Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

’Reformation’ was completed in February 2009 and was written for Dr Nancy Lee-Harper. The piece lasts just over 10 minutes. The title refers to the change processes that involve the world of humanity. Focussing on society’s need for change, or reformation, the title page carries a quote from ’Abdu’l-Bahá stating what is already in the process of change and what needs to be changed so as to make the world a safer and better place in which to live.

This piano solo is in two contrasting sections, played without a break. The first section expresses how people resist the changes to society, creating much turbulence. This turbulence and violence builds up to a frenzy, where the thematic material destroys itself. This is followed by a calm section, signifying the rolling up of all the out of date beliefs, to be replaced by a new order of laws, politics, inventions, beliefs, etc. that humanity learns to accept. The section is in the form of a set of variations, there being a ’transitional’ theme and a main theme, both loosely based on material from the first section. The final extended variation is a vision of the ultimate reformation - that of a ’Most Great Peace’ as foretold by Bahá’u’lláh.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.