Symmetries (brass quintet)

Full details...
page one of Symmetries (brass quintet)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Written for and first performed by the 'Brass Routes' brass quintet at Blewbury Parish Church in 2003, including myself on trombone, this piece is in three movements, each of which illustrates an aspect of symmetry.

1) Fanfare - Reflections

This opening movement makes extensive use of reflections both in pitch and time. The middle section is intended to be a humorous contest of machismo between the pair of trumpets and the pair of horn and trombone. This is interrupted by the tuba, impatient at the childish behaviour of the other members… In one place an alternative reading is supplied, which may be adopted if it is preferred to the original.

2) Fugue - Rotations

Not a fugue in the strictest sense, merely a pair of expositions that illustrate some aspects of rotational symmetry in a pitch sense.

3) Barbaric dance - Asymmetry

Although metrically complex on the note-to-note level, the simple ternary form illustrates the principle that there are usually guiding structures behind the most apparently disordered of objects.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Brass quintet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Symmetries (brass quintet)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...