New York November 2001 (for solo banjo)

Full details...
page one of New York November 2001 (for solo banjo)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

I composed this during the months of dark intensity following the World Trade Center attack right outside my window here.

About a week after that trauma, the electricity came back on, and we first saw the tv and the media coverage. We were suddenly pulled from the overwhelming local cocoon of caring and community, sympathy and love, into shockingly different global reactions of anger, hostility, and talk of "evil" and war. The emotional gut-level knot of this second trauma also persisted for months and fed into this piece.

No one I knew here who was actually living in and dealing with and breathing the results of the 9/11 attack had any impetus to anger or revenge, just tragedy and sadness and an overwhelming desire to help and care for each other and the question of why. Without electricity we had had no idea of the vengeful hatred that was being expressed by our government until suddenly the outside world was switched back on by Con Edison.

Score ID
Year of composition
Not applicable (e.g. worksheet)
6 minutes
Solo instrument (Banjo (gDGBD tuning) [tab])

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of New York November 2001 (for solo banjo)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...