Duet No. 3 in D (From the Durbar)

From the Durbar

Full details...
page one of Duet No. 3 in D (From the Durbar)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Three Duets for Violin & Pianoforte

Duet No. 1 in A , ’Reflections of Youth’ (1975, Rev’d December 2009) Duet No. 2 in F, ’Aseda’ (In Thanksgiving) for Violin & Pianoforte (1976, September 2009) Duet No. 3 in D ’From the Durbar’ for Violin & Pianoforte (1976, and October 2009) The three Duets for Violin and Pianoforte are revisions of three older duets written between 1973 and 1976 before my travel to the United States in 1977for graduate studies that would suite the intermediate to the advanced player. This exercise was done during the months of Sepember/December 2009 in Seattle. In these pieces, there is the attempt to capture the African melodic, harmonic and rhythmic musical thought processes. Western musical sound ideal would be essenially expressed as ’sound in motion,’ while that of African music would be the reverse - ’motion in sound.’ My acculturation therefore has consisted of the mastery of these seemingly diamerically opposed aesthetic positions that generally underpin my compositions. From a formal stand point, the duets are architecturally structured - perhaps, from hind sight, following the same logic found in the sonata form but where the reprise would have special elements that make the return welcome the second time round. The melodic outlines reflect the African singing mannerisms - depicting tertian and quartal generations of motion - with built-in sighs at some places, a phenomenon that is a characteristic feature of the tonal African languages or dialects. the harmonic structures are also similarly derived. Dur. = 8:00

Dr. E. Gyimah Labi Seattle, WA, USA December 2009

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Solo Solo Violin + piano
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Duet No. 3 in D (From the Durbar)

Reviews of Duet No. 3 in D (From the Durbar)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...