The Death of September

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Solo Violin)
Instrumental parts

The fleeting days of youth all too quickly pass and leave a bittersweet longing in their wake. The opening of this piece features a playful, spirited melody whose counterpoint in the violin and the left hand of the piano leads into a dense texture of two simultaneous different time signatures. Just as the rhythms are at their most complex, the piece grinds to a halt. September has ended. The piano, alone now, reflects on the passing of that last month of beautiful summer weather. As the violin re-enters, the rhythms become more syncopated in an attempt to mimic the opening section's complexities in a new setting as one might reminisce about summer and try to regain those moments but ultimately fail.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Tim Daoust. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Tim Daoust has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.