Le Destin Raté

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts

Le Destin Raté is a trio for three instruments, chosen for their dissimilar timbres which would be laid bare in such a comparatively thin texture. Each melodic line, though able to stand alone, is a part of a more intricate and complex whole. The original solo line in the bass clarinet is augmented by a syncopated line in the viola that is echoed and occasionally ornamented by the flute. As each line moves forward, countrapuntal activity increases until no instrument is playing in rhythmic unison. Abruptly, they come together in a heterophonic texture for a few brief moments at the end of each section. As the contrasting middle section begins, the instruments are locked in a driving sixteenth note rhythm which is deceptively together. On a closer listen, one notices that the flute and bass clarinet are playing in different note groupings alternately until finally coming together in rhythmic unison. The ending is a restatement of the original motive with all three instruments playing a brief canon. Le Destin Raté is translated, "Failed Destiny" and is a line from a movie that I was watching one night while working this piece. I chose it for its brevity and as a springboard for abstract ideas about the piece.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Tim Daoust. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Tim Daoust has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.