Images of War and Triumph

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra
Instrumental parts
Not available

Images of War and Triumph was created for string orchestra in December of 2002. Known for it's rhythmic drive and dramatic intensity, this four minute work has visions of conflict and disagreement between the sections of the orchestra. The piece begins in d minor with the first violins entering with a eight measure fugal subject. This statement is answered by the second violins and two bars later by the violas with the tonal center switching to g minor. The brunt of the "war" occurs in the c minor section with a cadence on a unison c from the strings. Entrances are made by each section, trying to out-play one another with conflicting rhythmic ideas. After an exact restatement of the opening, the orchestra comes together as one in the joyous C major section. The first violins enter with a lighthearted, heroic melody accompanied by a powerful rhythmic drive by the rest of the strings.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Timmothy Baker. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Timmothy Baker has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.