Messengers of Light

Full details...
page one of Messengers of Light

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

’Messengers of Light’ lasts around twenty minutes and is scored for an orchestra of triple woodwind, four each of horns and trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, two percussion players, piano, celesta and strings. A contralto/countertenor soloist is also included in the fourth of five movements. The movements’ titles are ’The Messenger’, ’Revocation’, ’Renewal’, ’O Fleeting Shadow!’ and ’The Glory’. These titles are only meant to guide the listener to the intended meaning behind the music. Although I offer a short guide to the link between the musical ideas and the intended philosophical meaning, I believe it is the listener who should interpret the full meaning for himself.

The ’Messengers’ in the title relates to the Founders of the major religious Faiths Who have brought the Word of God to mankind. The music expresses a range of mankind’s reaction to the messages They brought, ranging from fear and rejection at the start of the piece, leading to a complete acceptance by the end. The Message itself is represented in the fourth movement by setting the ninth of the Persian Hidden Words by Bahá’u’lláh, the Founder of the Bahá’í Faith. It is my intention that listeners from a wide range of backgrounds and Faiths will be able to derive meaningful interpretations of this piece.

The first movement is in ternary form; the opening section expresses the mystery of the Word; the central section expressing the Word’s descent from a higher plain of consciousness to a human level and the third section expresses mankind’s reaction, especially fear.

The second movement demonstrates mankind’s rejection of God whereby man attempts to go his own way, but meets with disaster along the way. Three attempts are made to ’have a good time’, expressed as spiky jazzy rhythms, and the third attempt ends in complete devastation.

The third movement opens with an expression of regret at what has happened and moves towards a reaching out (rising phrases) to God’s Word. The word setting of the fourth movement confirms this acceptance.

The final movement is a hymn of joy, using semi-minimalist patterns of irregular rhythms, as well as a prominent choral stated in three different ways. The third statement of the choral is for the brass section and, along with those repeating rhythms, brings this work to a joyful close.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
20 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Messengers of Light

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...