Eternal Harmonies

Full details...
page one of Eternal Harmonies

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Written in 2010, this piece is scored for solo violin and an ensemble of nine players: flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, alto saxophone, horn, tuba, percussion, piano and accordion.

Eternal Harmonies is in three sections, played without a break, and is based entirely on a ten-note chord. The notes of the chord are never sounded in their entirety, rather a selection of notes are sounded as arpeggios, or short melodic fragments are derived from them. The first section is marked Moderato and starts mysteriously in the bass. After a brief build-up, the solo violin lightens the texture with imitations from flute and vibraphone. Some melodic material is presented by a duet between saxophone and clarinet and, after developing this material, the section ends as it begun, in the low register.

The second section is a Presto in 7/8 time and is a lively dance. This section explores the melodic aspects of the ten-note chord, and it ends with a cadenza for the soloist, leading to the last section, marked Adagio. Here the rhythms are very simple and, although parts of the original chord are always present, short melodic phrases from the first section are further explored. The piece ends by ascending to the high register, suggesting an ascent to an eternal realm.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Large mixed ensemble
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Eternal Harmonies

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...