Symphony No. 7

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
44 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This large-scale one-movement work is in a sense a continuation of the issues raised by the Sixth Symphony. Form and content are one with thematic and melodic material seamlessly combined with harmony and flowing smoothly from section to section, with only a few abrupt changes in course. While there are no quotes from Mahler, there is a section with a Mahleresque feel to it. The opening theme has a Bach feel, however (not Mahler!), and forms the basis of an extended introduction. That section is repeated with changes and in a different key near the end of the work, just before the extended coda, with all the flowing inner sections acting like a kind of development. Thus the whole is one of the composer´┐Żs reworked sonata forms, reworked almost out of recognition. The feel of the work is contemplative throughout, with few heavy climaxes and tuttis.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Robert McKee. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Robert McKee has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.