FRANZ LISZT: Via Crucis (arr. for symphony orchestra)

Franz Liszt
Difficult (Grades 7+)
40 minutes
Classical music
Choir + orchestra
Instrumental parts
Not available

Liszt’s late great cantata on the 14 stations of the cross was originally for choir, solists and keyboard. While the work is basically introspective and searching work, the dramatic qualities are there too. It is for that reason that I thought an orchestration of the entire work could work quite well. Incidentally, the orchestration is in the style of Liszt’s own, with the aim being that the listener might imagine Liszt had arranged it thus.

If you would like to perform this in public, please contact me for parts and permission.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Rob Howe. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Rob Howe has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.