Concerto for harp and orchestra, Op. 48 - I. Choral

Full details...
page one of Concerto for harp and orchestra, Op. 48 - I. Choral

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This modern-classical harp concerto has, concerning the style and character of the music, much in common with my Concerto Espagnole (this is my guitar concerto, premiered in Serbia in 2013). The 1st movement is moderately fast and in sonata form, with a choral-like main theme ( the development section starting around 2’05”). The 2nd movement is slow and in a Lied form, with two themes (one solemn and severe, and one mysterious). It contains also a romantic middle section (starting at about 2'20"). The 3rd (and final) movement is fast and in a free rondo form; it has a very Spanish atmosphere and contains some wonderful solo's for the English Horn, especially in the pastoral middle section (starting around 4’40”) and in the coda. I revised the harp part in 2019, according to the comments of some harpists, to improve the playability (should be OK now). Digital performance using Sibelius 6 and Kontakt Player Gold. Moving score video is on my YouTube-channel. Comments on the former SibeliusMusic chat page: " … a superb work …"; " … a lovely work … gorgeous material … one word: Fabulous!"; " … you must get a publisher interested in your work now."

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Concerto for harp and orchestra, Op. 48 - I. Choral

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...