Fanfare & Soliloquy for Viola & Piano

Full details...
page one of Fanfare & Soliloquy for Viola & Piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Fanfare & Soliloquy is an outstanding choice for a recital or contest piece for an intermediate-level student of the Viola. The rousing Fanfare appears both at the beginning and end of the work, surrounding the lovely Soliloquy. While quite dramatic and featuring a few sections of technical challenge for the soloist, the work is also quite short and accessible - and a clear audience-pleaser!

A skilled accompanist would be most helpful given the mixed meters and frequent tempo changes; however, the work would also be a manageable challenge for a young pianist working on his or her accompanying skills!

Overall, the piece helps to fill an important void for the Viola repertoire - that of new, original works for the instrument which are accessible for musician and audience alike.

Score ID
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Solo Solo Viola + piano
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Vedrò con mio diletto Aria: from the opera "Il Giustino" for Double Bass & Keyboard, Jazz it up:When the Saint’s Go Marching In for Viola & Piano, Cwm Rhondda for String Orchestra, The Saint’s Visit Havana with a Touch of W.A.Mozart for Viola & Piano, Mattinata for Violin & Piano, Jasmine Flower (The) for solo Violin & Piano in F (Keith Terrett Classic String Series), The Saint’s Visit Havana with a Touch of W.A.Mozart for Violin & Piano, Mattinata for Double (Contra) Bass & Piano, Arrival of the Queen of Sheba for String Orchestra, Für Elise Boogie Woogie for Double Bass & Piano (Keith Terrett Jazz for Strings Series), Jasmine Flower (The) for Cello & Piano, Fanfare & Soliloquy for Violin & Piano, Chinese National Anthem for String Orchestra (March of the Volunteers), Twenty Minute Tango for Double Bass & Piano (A minor), Nessun Dorma for Viola & Piano, Bollywood Tango for Violin, Cello & Keyboard, M’Appari Tutt’ Amor for Violin & Piano, Twenty Minute Tango for Viola & Piano, Lustpiel Overture for String Orchestra, Jasmine Flower (The) for Violin & Piano in D, Air from the Suite No. 3 in D for solo Oboe & Orchestra, Arrival of the Queen of Sheba for two solo Violins & String Orchestra, March from ’Judas Maccabaeus’ for Junior String Orchestra with opt. KB & Percussion (School Junior String Series), M’Appari Tutt’ Amor for Viola & Piano, Amazing Grace for Violin & Piano, Declamation for Violin & Piano, What Shall We Do With The Drunken String Orchestra?, A Serenade for Viola & Keyboard, Solveigs sang for Viola & Keyboard, Czardas for Viola & Pianoforte, Amazing Grace for Viola & Piano, 7 jul sangs (Xmas carols) popular in Norway for Strings, Von fremden Landern und Menschen for String Orchestra, Slaves Chorus from Nabucco (''Va, pensiero" ) for String Orchestra, Ancient Dances for Concert/Wind/Symphonic Band - Keith Terrett Classic Band Series, Icelandic National Anthem for String Orchestra - "Lofsöngur" (World National Anthem Series) , Spanish National Anthem (Marcha Real) for String Orchestra, Elegy Sentimentale for Symphony Orchestra Opus 1, Fanfare, Procession & Lament for Concert Band, Swiss National Anthem (Swiss Psalm) for String Orchestra (MFAO World National Anthem Series), Russian Federation National Anthem for String Orchestra (MFAO World National Anthem Series), Una Furtiva Lagrima for Double Bass & Piano and Polish National Anthem for String Orchestra (MFAO World National Anthem Series)

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Fanfare & Soliloquy for Viola & Piano

Reviews of Fanfare & Soliloquy for Viola & Piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...