Plea for Concordance

Full details...
page one of Plea for Concordance

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Plea for Concordance was written in 2011 for Polina Burdukova. It is for two cellos and piano and is in three movements, lasting just over 11 minutes.

This work was inspired by the current events in Northern African and Middle Eastern countries which, for various political reasons, are experiencing disunity and unrest. The first movement is called Family Concordance and expresses the notion that ’charity begins at home’. It has two thematic ideas; the first representing those squabbles and fights that often happen within families and the second is a ’reconciliation theme’ that is used to restore peace and harmony within the family unit.

The second movement is called National Reconciliation and represents the unrest that divides individual countries. The main thematic material is very intense and emotional as it represents how disturbing it is that any country can be divided, and the movement ends with a variant of the ’reconciliation theme’ heard in the first movement, again used to restore peace and harmony, this time to any country in turmoil.

The last movement is called Global Fellowship and expresses the need to go one step further, this being to create concordance between all the countries of the world. This movement is fast and joyful in character and integrates the ’reconciliation theme’ heard in the previous two movements, expressing the vision of how wonderful it would be if all the countries of the world could live in peace and harmony. The movement ends in a highly jubilant and optimistic manner.

The whole piece is prefaced by a quote by the Persian Mystic ’Abdu’l-Bahá Abbás:

O God! Dispel all those elements which are the cause of discord, and prepare for us all those things which are the cause of unity and accord!

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Plea for Concordance

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...