Double Bass part from Casta Diva (from Norma) arranged for soprano, optional choir and small orchestra

6 minutes
Classical music

Hal�vy, composer of the opera La Juive, claimed he would have given away all his works if he could have composed just one aria, 'Casta Diva' ('Chaste Goddess'). The aria has been a signature piece for famous sopranos such as Maria Callas, Joan Sutherland, Renee Fleming and Angela Gheorgiu. It is one of the most exquisite gems in the bel canto repertoire.

This version is arranged for small orchestra (single woodwind, horn, trumpet and strings) and can be performed by as few as 11 players, although it may be desirable to augment the string section.

The solo soprano line is untouched and in the original key of F major. The chorus parts are re-assigned from SSTTB to the more usual SATB.

The vocal score (solo soprano, chorus and piano reduction) corresponding to this version is also available on Sibelius Music by the same arranger, Chris Gill.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Chris Gill. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Chris Gill has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.