Violoncello part from Sonata da chiesa for Oboe & Harpsichord Continuo

8 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This was originally written for a recorder consort, for my long-standing friend, Peter Bennemann, my partner on the then Plymouth-Bremen Youth Exchange, and himself a keen recorder player. I have since re-arranged it for oboe and harpsichord continuo. The harpsichord has, at times, been elaborated from the original four-part texture, but essentially the work remaines unchanged. It is cast in the style of a Baroque four-movement sonata da chiesa, although there are some little bits of pastiche along the way!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Philip R Buttall. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.