Bass Trombone part from Salut d’amour (CB)

Sir Edward Elgar
3 minutes
Classical music

Elgar finished the piece in July 1888, when he was engaged to be married to Caroline Alice Roberts, and he called it "Liebesgruss" (’Love�s Greeting’) because of Miss Roberts� fluency in German. When he returned home to London on 22nd September from a holiday at the house of his friend Dr. Charles Buck, in Settle, he presented her with it as his engagement present. Alice, for her part, offered him a poem called ’The Wind at Dawn’ which she had written years before and which he soon set to music. The dedication was in French "Carice". The first forms of the work were then for piano solo and for violin accompanied by piano. It was not published (by Schott & Co.) until a year later, and the first editions were for piano solo, violin and piano, cello and piano, and for small orchestra. Few copies were sold until Schott�s changed the title to "Salut d�Amour" with (Liebesgruss) as a sub-title, and the composer�s name as ’Ed. Elgar’. The French title, Elgar realised, would help the work to be sold not only in France but in other European countries: Schott’s was a German publisher, with offices in Mainz, London, Paris and Brussels. The first public performance was of the orchestral version, at a Crystel Palace concert on 11th November 1889, conducted by August Manns.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by George Pollen. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to George Pollen has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.