Violin I part from Reliquary of Sacred Music - Bach, J.S.- MayThe Father's Boundless Love from Wedding Cantata 202 - arr. for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Johann Sebastion Bach
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

MAY THE FATHER�S BOUNDLESS LOVE From Cantata No. 202, "Weichet nur, betr�bte Schatten," ("Wedding Cantata"), BWV 202. Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) Text by John Newton (1725-1807)

Nothing is known of the origins of Cantata No 202, Weichet nur, betr�bte Schatten. It survives in a single manuscript score copied in about 1730 and is now owned by the German music publishers, Peters. This aria and gavotta have the character of an arioso rather than a da capo aria and comprises the 9th movement from the cantata, which was probably composed for a wedding celebration, and it was originally scored for Soprano soloist, oboe, 2 violins, viola and continuo. It is one of Bach�s happiest creations, and if the text is to be taken literally was composed during the spring, indeed the work starts with a beautiful evocation of the spring.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.