Violin II part from Reliquary of Sacred Music - Handel, G. - Let The Bright Seraphim from Samson - arranged for Soprano and String Quartet by Gerald Manning

7 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

LET THE BRIGHT SERAPHIM From SAMSON Text: JOHN MILTON Libretto:Newburgh Hamilton From �At a Solemn Musick� Music: GEORGE FRIDERIC HANDEL

Milton's dark and dense meditation on the Samson legend was the inspiration in 1741 for Handel�s next oratorio, which he began work on just two weeks after completing Messiah on September 14. Work started on Samson on September 29, and with his customary alacrity Handel completed the score on October 29. The libretto by Newburgh Hamilton, who based it on Miltons's Samson Agonistes, which in turn was based on the figure Samson in Chapter 16 of the Book of Judges. Samson is considered one of Handel's finest dramatic works, even though the premiere which was given in London did not take place until February 18, 1743. Usually performed as an oratorio in concert form, Samson has also on occasions been staged as an opera, maintaining its popularity throughout Handel�s lifetime, and has never fallen entirely out of favor since.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.