Flute part from The Snow Queen after Hans Christian Andersen (for Orchestra)

12 minutes
Classical music

"The Snow Queen" is a symphonic poem for orchestra inspired by the story of the same name by Hans Christian Andersen. It was written as incidental music to my daughter's school production in Switzerland. In this version, it is concert ready with parts which may also be printed.

The evil Snow Queen lures the young boy Kay to stay with her at her icy home in the most northern part of Finland (Lapland). Gerda, Kay's best friend, takes it upon herself to find him. She meets a princess and prince (who she thought might be Kay), an old woman who shows her a wonderful garden, a robber girl with a flying reindeer, and two women from Finland and Lapland. In the music one can hear the Snow Queen represented by a rather agressive theme in the low instruments. The great hall of the Snow Queen's Palace is represented in the middle of the symphonic poem. Voices (singing "ah") are used to add colour to the "icy" part of the piece.

Gerda succeeds in finding her friend, sneaking him away from the Snow Queen who had left Kay alone and frightened. They make their way back home but not before saying goodbye to the friends who helped them. Melodic material representing each of the characters is brought back to accomplish a sense of closure to the form.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Daniel J. Laubacher. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Daniel J. Laubacher has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.