Solo Cello part from Concertino for Cello and Strings

11 minutes
Classical music

The Cello is my favorite string instrument and second only to the clarinet among all instruments. I have always wanted to write a piece for it and this Concertino I hope does justice to some of the amazing qualities this instrument possesses. It starts with the string orchestra playing a somber theme. The solo cello enters with a rhapsodic motif that leads to the first theme. The middle section is based on the opening theme which also serves as the main thrust of the cadenza that follows a second theme. Each theme is developed through variations by the solo instrument as well as the orchestra. The solo cello has the final notes in this homage to a noble instrument. I have tried to use mainly, intervals of sixths that are not too difficult to execute in the double stops.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Olulana Alofe. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Olulana Alofe has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.