Violin II part from Suite of Spanish Christmas Carols for Two Flutes and String Orchestra

9 minutes
Latin music and World music

This is a suite of eight Spanish Christmas Carols arranged into a five movement suite for two flutes and string orchestra. The frequent use of pizzicato is meant to be reminiscent of Spanish guitars. The first movement is a medley of "Las Posadas", "Entren, Santos Peregrinos", "??ndale, Juana!", and "?Dale, Dale, Dale!" The other movements include one carol each: "Pastores, Venid", "Las Campanas de Bel?n", "A la Nanita Nana", and "Los Peces en el R?o". It is not a difficult work, and can be performed by most middle-school orchestras. My choral arrangements of the carols "Las Posadas" Medley, "Pastores, Venid", Campanas de Bel?n", "A la Nanita Nana", and "Los Peces en el Rio" are already on (see below). With a few judcious edits and repeats, the works can be combined as a choral/orchestral piece.

I have just uploaded (9/24/04) the revised version of the work adding flutes to the opening bars of the introducion, and changing the flute parts from letter X to the end, giving the flutes 2-bar phrases rather than the original 4-bar phrases. It helps to be able to breath occasionally!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Joel Jacklich. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Joel Jacklich has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.