Violoncello part from Three Operatic Arias

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Orchestrated by Adrian Connell
12 minutes
Classical music

How many people have programmed the Mozart Requiem for a concert and then had problems finding works to perform with it due to the unique orchestration of the Requiem?

I had this problem this year and decided to ask our Soprano Soloist to choose three operatic arias that I could then re-orchestrate to fit the instrumentation of the Requiem. The result is this short suite like work consisting of one aria from Cosi fan Tutte and two from The Marriage of Figaro. The arias are Come scoglio immorto resta, Porgiamor qualche ristoro and Dove sono i bei momenti.

Mozart was a master of orchestration and all I have done is reworked the parts for oboes and horns to fit on clarinets, trumpets and trombone. I also decided to include a part for timpani.

These orchestrations were first performed on 3 December 2011 at St Mary Magdalene Church with St Martin, Canning Road, Croydon by Julia O’Connor with the Ruskin Sinfonia conducted by Adrian Connell

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Adrian Connell. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Adrian Connell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.