Soprano saxophone 1 (optional) part from What Might Have Been (saxophone quartet)

4 minutes

Saxophone quartet, AATB or optional SATB. This short nostalgic piece recreates the fleeting experience of remembering a time in the past and wondering, �What Might Have Been.� It starts with a single quiet thought, heard in the lead alto, which mellows into a warm remembrance of that special time, as other voices join in. There's a slow-paced bittersweet feeling, expressed by simple harmonies spiked by a persistent dissonance. Then the mood changes to a memory of the happiest of times when all was well and life was a dance. But the bittersweet mood returns, the harmonies and dissonance are felt once more, and at last the memory fades away.

Other sax quartets by this composer: Minor Disturbance, Purple Melody, Red Rhythm, Yellow Jazz, That Lazy Day. To see what Paul Abbott can do with a Big Band, check out All Over the Place and The Dancing Plumber.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Paul Bergen Abbott. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Paul Bergen Abbott has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.