Trombone 1 (tenor clef) part from Aria Della Battaglia

Andrea Gabrieli
9 minutes
Classical music

This is a new perfoming edition of Andrea Gabrieli's finest work for brass, edited for four trumpets, four trombones and optional timpani. The piece is an arrangement of a chanson by Clement Janequin entitled "La Guerre". Gabrieli extends the original material with antiphonal, warlike sections in the middle of the work, and again at the conclusion - these sections should be loud and exciting. I have included some ornamentation, based on the performance of this piece by London Brass, as well as Phillip Pickett's anotations on the score. A continuo chamber organ could be used, basing its part on the 3rd and 4th trombone material. Tenor clef trombone parts are available. The tempo settings as interpreted by Scorch are rather wayward, so I encourage you to play with the tempo scroller until it sounds right!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Graham Dixon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Graham Dixon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.