Alto Flute part from BOCCHERINI, Luigi: String Trio, Opus 4.1 for Flute Choir (2fl, afl, bfl)

Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805)
7 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This is the first of the six trios for 2 violins and cello that comprise Boccherini's String Trios, Op. 4 (1766; first published at Paris, 1768; a reissue at Amsterdam in the mid-1780s renumbered them as Op. 6). It's a melodically simple, charming and simple enough piece that translates well onto flutes. I have had, however, to add a third part (for the alto) to fill the piece out, as it sounds somewhat thin in its original form when played by flutes. Basically, flutes 1 and 2 retain the violin parts of the original, as the bass flute does the cello part. The alto flute part is essentially mine. There's nasty key for a section of movt 3, though it looks worse than it actually is.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Douglas Brooks-Davies. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.