Violoncello part from BACH, J.S. - Bist du bei mir - arr. for Soprano and String Quartet by Gerald Manning

J.S. Bach
3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Although Bist du bei mir BWV 508 is listed in Schmieder�s Bach-Werke-Verzeichnis the composition, scholars now believe, was in fact by Gottfried Heinrich Stolzel (16 90-1749) and Bach arranged it in the Clavier-Buchlein for Anna Magdalena�s soprano voice in E flat major. This careful distinction has to be made however while still maintaining the aria�s BWV identity, but the indisputable fact remains whoever composed it, that this work is one of great appeal which captivates the listener on first hearing with it�s beautiful melodic lines which are woven into the equally beautiful lines of an anonymous poet. The poem�s central theme is one of fidelity, which celebrates the joy, and union of sharing life with a likeminded soul, and the realisation that even in the face of death the beloved presence would bring contentment. This arrangement is for Soprano and String Quartet but of course it can be performed with just a string quartet. The poem is published with both German and English texts.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.