1. Trumpet in B-flat, Choir 1: Auf dem see part from Auf dem See (double quartet: at the lake) for Brass Octet

Moritz Hauptmann
5 minutes
Classical music

This is a true piece of gothic revival music by the German composer, theorist and teacher Moritz Hauptmann (b Dresden, 13 Oct 1792; d Leipzig, 3 Jan 1868). In this work one hears both the influence of the old polyphony that was part of what the romantics discovered in the music of the past, and the assertive tonal style with those simple and triumphant homophonic declarations that one often associates with Mendelssohn, who it happens, Hauptmann knew personally. It was originally scored for instruments used in a Cival War Era Military Band: E-flat Cornet; B-flat Cornet; 2 E-flat Alto Horns; Baritone; Tenor Trombone, 2 Bass Tubas. I have rescored it for modern brass ensemble, this time 2 Trumpets in B-flat, 2 Horns in F, 1 Trombone, 1 Bass Trombone and Tuba. It is a wonderful piece of antiphonal music in the manner of Gabrieli. I have kept the 2 choir configuration in tact. I find this piece astonishing in its singing style and beautiful melody, especially since it is written for brass instruments. This work is found in The American Brass Band Journal (published in New York : John F. Stratton, 1866-70.)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Warren Wernick. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Warren Wernick has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.