Marimba part from Passages of Time

5 minutes
Modern classical music and World music
Other parts

This piece was began as an experiment of taking a coda idea, and finding a way to write a piece which led up to it. The piece began, at the coda, as a kind of Steve Reich-like minimalistic section, with each instrument playing a different pattern going in and out of phase with the rests. I then worked from the start with a very different idea, and worked my way through the piece to link the start and end together, with the journey along the way documented as music.

The last section of this begin was the beginning point for the composition progress. A Steve Reich-like minimalistic section scored for flute, bassoon and marimba used different forms of pentatonicism, with each instrument playing a pattern, which would go in and out of phase with the other instruments and their patterns.

The bassoon had the simplest and most repetitive pattern, being two notes three quavers long. The flute was playing an eight quaver long pattern. The marimba was playing a ten quaver long pattern, with the resulting phase shifts occurring freely between all the parts.

Taking the idea of pentatonicism, I then turned to the unwritten beginning of the piece, and worked my way along from the beginning to the already written end, the journey of which was documented in the form of music.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David Vaughan. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to David Vaughan has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.