Trumpet 3 part from So Sammy

3 minutes
Jazz music

NOTE: Some people have not been able to access all the parts to this score. If you are having difficulty then please contact me at and I’ll happily send you a full PDF file with parts!

This is a bluesy big band swing number, written to be performed at an intermediate level. It isn’t particularly innovative; the emphasis is purely on fun! Shouldn’t be too difficult to play. The sax solos are in less usual keys, but hey - it’ll be good practice for them! :-)

The piano part can be used by the conductor as a reduced score if he doesn’t fancy turning all the pages on the full score.

The piece is a homage to big band composing/arranging legend Sammy Nestico, and as well as (hopefully) capturing the feel of his swing I’ve tried to incorporate one or two allusions as well. See how many you can spot!

Most importantly, I hope you enjoy the piece. Please get in touch with any feedback or requests you may have.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Michael Roberts. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Michael Roberts has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.