Bb Clarinet - 1 part from Fugal Fantasia for Clarinet Septet

6 minutes
Modern classical music

'Fugal Fantasia' was originally written for a saxophone quartet. At the invitation of Stephen Penton, who leads The Clarinet Consort of the Southwark Consorts of Winds in London, I have rearranged the piece for a clarinet septet. I have taken the opportunity to expand the piece to achieve a better pace and overall balance, adding just under a minute to its duration.

The premiere is scheduled for 18th March 2006 at Blackheath in London. My thanks to Stephen for his enthusiastic interest and for his guidance in unravelling the transpositions and playable compasses of some of the more unfamiliar instruments in the ensemble.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Cedric Peachey. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Cedric Peachey has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.