Bass Flute part from ROSSINI, Gioacchino: Sonata in F for Flute Choir, after String Sonata 5 in E flat (3fl, afl, bassfl)

After the String Sonata no 5 in E flat

Gioacchino Rossini (1792-1868)
14 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This is the fifth of the six string sonatas the very young Rossini - he was 12! - wrote in 1804 while staying in Ravenna. Originally scored for 2 violins, cello and double bass, they were later arranged as string quartets and rearranged as wind quintets. Utterly irresistible for their melodic charm and exuberance, I just had to arrange them for flutes. No 5 is transposed to F from the original key of E flat, thus avoiding out-of-range low B flats. I have occasionally introduced a dialogue between Flutes 1 and 2 where Violin 1 in the original plays the whole line. Other than that, I have stayed as close to the original as possible, filling in harmonies with Flute 3. NOTE: 11TH BAR AFTER V, FLUTE 2, correct E# demisemiquaver to E natural. Despite reloading the score, this error has been retained. My apologies.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.