Violin II part from Baroque Suite - 5. Antonio Vivaldi Largo: Sonata Xll in A minor RV32 - arr.for string quartet

Antonio Vivaldi
4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Many of my violin students often express a wish to play string quartets. After they have learnt their respective pieces for examinations they comment, that although they enjoy playing the pieces with the piano it would be nice if the works were arranged for string quartet � well I have granted them their wish! However these works are not easy to play, for I have scored the inner voices with difficult double stops, which will cause intonation problems, but teachers can alternate the players accordingly for practice purposes especially if they are teaching a pupil double stopping. In general I have left all interpretative considerations such as dynamics, bowing and the thorny subject of vibrato to the performers. These works can be utilised in many ways � they can be used for music festivals, school concerts, wedding services and receptions, funerals and for assessment purposes in the GCSE music syllabus. Have fun and enjoy this very beautiful music.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.