Alto Sax in E flat part from Invocations

8 minutes
Modern classical music

Invocations are founded on three folksongs, which have been associated with religious texts. The first is the Irish tune known as St. Patrick's Breastplate, the second the English tune O Waly waly or The River is Wide and the third Kingsfold or Dives and Lazarus. Rather than just place the folksongs in a new setting, I decided to "compose around" the tunes but I hope there is just a hint of the originals to lend them an air, perhaps, of familiarity. Invocations I and II received their first performance on 4th October, 1999 in Conway Hall, London and were subsequently performed on 5th December, 1999 at Louisiana State University, USA. The first complete performance was on 26th February, 2000 in Portsmouth & they received their first French performance on 29th February, 2000 at Rouen Conservatoire.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Phillip Pennington Harris. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Phillip Pennington Harris has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.