Cornet in B^b part from Mixed Quartet - Intimations

3 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Intimations is a piece written for the (very) mixed ensemble that made up my Year 12 group. Because their instruments are quite diverse they have found it difficult to find a pre-published ensemble piece so they asked me to write one for them. This is not an exemplar or any other kind of exam piece, it is purely for them to play and, hopefully, enjoy.

The title is a bit of a play on words. Intimate means close and intimations means (loosely) hints. These pupils are all friends to one degree or another and the music is quite intimate in that the main musical ideas overlap with each other and are quite closely related musically. Also, the main ideas hint at other possibilities and these are only partially developed before a reprise of the first idea.

The opening and its reprise hint at the Baroque era, while the 4/4 section hints at the 20th century, with its syncopated accompaniment and off-beat melody. The rhythmic patterns hint at 8/8, but there are sections clearly in 4/4 and I decided to make the rhythm patterns clearer by using accents, rather than keep swapping time signatures and, in any case, Sibelius finds simultaneous time signatures difficult and clunky to implement.

It’s meant to be a fun piece and, if you like it but have a different ensemble, just ask and I’ll create parts for other instruments. (Clarinet/saxophone, say).

Current orchestration is Flute, Cornet/Trumpet, Viola, Bassoon.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mike Lyons. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Mike Lyons has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.