Part 4 inC(BC) part from Brass Quartet - French Suite No 5 BWV 816

Johann Sebastian Bach
13 minutes
Classical music

Score and parts updated 26/7/17.

A transcription for brass quartet of the Bach French Suite No 5 BWV 816. This is a much more lively work than BWV 813, and the gigue is quite wanton in its abandon! The five movements are Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Gavotte and Gigue. This is suitable for many occasions and could be used as a concert work or as background music to an event - but it will get your audience's feet tapping! The rhythms are frequently complex and the necessity of moving material around the instruments makes for some tough reading in places, but it is well worth the effort.

The supplied parts are:

Part 1 in Bb Part 2 in Eb/F Part 3 in Bb/C(Bass clef) Part 4 in Eb/C(Bass clef)

Other parts can be obtained on request.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mike Lyons. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Mike Lyons has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.