Oboe part from Wind Quintet - (Complete)

16 minutes
Modern classical music

Woodwind quintets (Fl, Ob, Cl, Hn, Bn) are such exciting ensembles to play in, with an excellent repertoire. Subtitled "An Adventure", this is written to be fun to play and with plenty to challenge most players. This version is the complete work, but the five movements may be purchased separately although it will cost you more if you end up buying the complete work. Click on "Associated Scores" for individual movements.

The 5 movements are:

1. With a Swagger - Somehow I think of all wind quintets as having a "French" flavour and that is the character of this short opening movement.

2. Of a Flutter- Slow and very expressive, building to a complex climax.

3. Molly and the Shepherds - If you know your Percy Grainger you will already have guessed what this movement is about. A little pastiche on his style with a little mystery hidden inside. This movement works well as a stand-alone piece.

4. Don't Cry - A touch of Argentinian fervour! Another movement which can be performed as a stand-alone piece.

5. The Road to Recovery - Thoughtful, with short cadenzas for all players and a gradual build-up and return to the original material from the first movement. This is the hardest movement to get to grips with because of the changing pulse and the understanding required by all players, but it brings the work full circle a gives balance.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alun Cook. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alun Cook has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.