Tenor Recorder part from The Lone Ar-ranger! (Recorder Quartet)

3 minutes
Classical music

A few weeks ago, I received an email from Helen Miller, a tutor with the University of the Third Age in Australia, wondering whether I had ever made an arrangement of The Lone- Ar-ranger! for recorder quartet. There is an arrangement for full Recorder Orchestra, which fellow-SibeliusMusic composer, Steve Marshall, made, and which Steve has published under his own company, May Hill Edition.
As the work, and hence the saga, actually started life in a version for recorders and piano, it seemed a logical thing to make this one for descant, treble, tenor and bass recorders. It’s not an easy blow, but should sound well with an accomplished set of players. The dedication is to the late Freda Dinn, who was my Recorder professor at the Royal College of Music, and who had written a great deal of educational literature for the instrument.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.