Violoncello part from Scriabin, A. - Prelude in B flat - Op.17 No.6 - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Scriabin, A.
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Alexander Scriabin�s father Nicolas was a lawyer and a brilliant young pianist who died a little more than a year after Alexander�s birth in Moscow on January the 6th 1872. It is not difficult to see where the boy inherited his natural Piano technique from, for he was able to extemporize on the instrument at the age of five, and like Mozart was able to repeat from memory any music he had heard once performed. He emulated the style of Chopin in his earliest compositions but soon developed a strong style of his own which differed in many ways from his contemporaries at the Moscow Conservatory where his teachers were Taneieff and Arensky the latter of whom formed an unhappy alliance with his young prot�g�; Scriabin however compensated for this by winning a gold medal in piano playing in 1891. As well as being a capable Pianist, he composed much Piano Music, including many Preludes, Etudes and Sonatas. This Prelude in B flat is No.6 from his Op.17 in an arrangement for String Quartet.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.