Viola part from CORELLI, A. - Concerto Grosso No. 1 in D major - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Arcangelo Corelli
13 minutes
Classical music
Other parts



The Concerto Grosso that in Italian literally means grand or large concert is an early style of orchestral writing that evolved in Italy in two distinctive orchestral genre. In the north its form took the basic four-part string writing, which was complemented by the leader of the orchestra as soloist; but in Rome Corelli was developing a form of the Concerto Grosso along with Stradelli and Torelli, which became to be known as the �classic� form, and there is no doubt that Corelli was the originator. This comprised of several soloists called the �concertino� opposed against a full string ensemble the �ripieno�. This form that bears an analogy to the Eighteenth Century Overture and Suite comprised of several movements including Largos, Allegros, and Andantes, with Minuets, Gavottes, and Gigues occasionally interspersed. As Sonata form evolved and developed the Concerto Grosso was gradually replaced by the Concerto of Mozart�s time.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.