Soprano part from Come To The Opera - Puccini, G.- La Boheme - Mi chiamano Mimi - arr, for Soprano & String Orchestra by Gerald Manning

Puccini, G.
4 minutes
Classical music

LA BOHEME: opera in 4 acts, libretto by Luigi Illica and Giuseppe Giacosa based on �Scenes de la vie de Boheme� by Henry Murger, music by Giacomo Puccini (1858-1924), first performance at the Teatro Regio, Turin on 1st February 1896.

The protagonists: Mimi (soprano); Rodolfo (tenor), a poet; Marcello (baritone), a painter; Musetta (soprano); Colline (bass), a philosopher; Schaunard (baritone)), musician; Benoit (bass), landlord; Parpignol (tenor), a toy-seller; Alcindo (bass), a councillor; a Customs Officer (bass); a Sergeant (bass)

Townspeople, merchants, peasants

Location: Paris; time: c, 1830

La Boheme was Puccini�s fourth opera and the second of his four mature works: Turandot, La Boheme, Tosca and Madame Butterfly. Its premiere was a success � although not as great a success as �Manon Lescaut�, which was premiered three years earlier. The Milanese publisher Ricordi had decided, much to Puccini�s displeasure, that the performance would be conducted by the then relatively unknown but fast-rising 28-year-old musical director of the Teatro Regio, Arturo Toscanini, and although Puccini supervised the rehearsals he would have preferred to be collaborating with a more famous conductor.

However the opera proved to be a great success with the public and ever since then is firmly established as one of the three or four most popular operas in the repertoire.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.