Violin II part from Come To The Opera - Purcell, H.- Dido's Lament, and final Chorus (from Dido and Aeneas) - arr, for Mezzo-soprano, Chamber Chorus & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Henry Purcell
6 minutes
Classical music

PURCELL: DIDO and AENEAS. Dido�s lament, and final chorus

The first known performance of Henry Purcell�s only opera, which is a short work composed for a girls� school was given in 1689 in London at �Josias Priest�s Boarding-School at Chelsey by young gentlewomen�; however it could have been performed earlier at the English court. It has a perfection of it�s own, but was much influenced by Italian laments, in which composers� such as Monteverdi some eighty years before set the model for such compositions by the use of a ground bass, and of a descending fourth which are traditional features and express lost love or death.

The libretto by Nahum Tate recounts the tragic story of Dido and Aeneas. The Greeks, who have been besieging Troy for ten years, finally enter the city by subterfuge in the guise of a wooden horse, in the belly of which men-at-arms are concealed, and sack it. Under the aegis of Venus the Trojan prince Aeneas escapes with the intention of founding a new city in Italy: Rome. During the voyage a violent storm drives his ship to Carthage the city of the widowed queen Dido who is immediately captivated by him and implores him to stay, but he is cajoled and tricked by a sorceress who reminds him about fulfilling his destiny. Dido is inconsolable and heartbroken. In a domineering way she taunts Aeneas about his indecisiveness, and after dismissing him she sings her lament (which is really addressed to her companion Belinda who she does not want to trouble, and not Aeneas) and dies.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.