Violoncello part from String Quartet Number Two �9/11�, Movement Three, in E flat Major

7 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Movement 3, in E flat major parodies the uselessness of the desperation of war, mostly for politicians to be seen to be doing something even though it might achieve the exact opposite. The piece features a skewed, twisted, almost drunken theme which blunders through the piece and is presently accompanied by parodies of the National Anthems of the three principal protagonists, the United States of America, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the independent country of Iraq under the Stalinesque dictatorship of Saddam Hussein. More common and domestic parody leads us to an increasingly violent conclusion, a conclusion to which there can be no end and no resolution. It is for this reason that there is no traditional Fourth Movement. The incompleteness speaks untold volumes of the situation.

If peace ever comes to that troubled country (Iraq), I shall have to consider reflecting any resolution in my String Quartet, but until that time comes this piece stands as a testament to its own time and place in history.

Find Further Information Here:

Anthems of the world:

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Peter Dewar-Finch. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Peter Dewar-Finch has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.