Tuba part from Drag This Net

4 minutes
Modern classical music

Drag This Net is a brass quintet influenced by set theory analyzation technique as well as jazz. Set theory categorizes intervals as numbers instead of note relationships. These numbers are applied to any and all other others. Inversion, retrograde inversion, augmentation, diminution, and many other manipulations are used in this piece. The two significant intervals used are a tritone (six half steps) with a perfect fourth above it. This choice of intervals serves the jazz flavor very well, for it is present in many jazz harmonies. The significance of the titel gives reference to the famed detective TV show, "Dragnet", whose music was written by Henry Mancini. Mancini is also the composer of much jazz music such as "Pink Panther" and "Peter Gunn".

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Carl Sauter. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Carl Sauter has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.