Violin II part from A Night at the Ballet - Chopin, F. - Les Sylphides - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Frederic Chopin
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Les Sylphides Premiere: June 2, 1909, (Theatre du Chatelet, Paris). Music: Frederic Chopin Choreography: Michael Fokine

Synopsis: The ballet has no plot, that is why there is no scenario credit. It is "romantic reverie." Les Sylphides is composed of a suite of dances in the romantic atmosphere of a moonlit park. The sylphides, (magical figures, like the sylph in La Sylphide), dance with the "poet" in search of the ideal. The dances are in the following order: 1. Prelude: The curtain rises and all dancers are on stage, posed motionless. 2. Nocturne: an ensemble danced by the whole cast. 3. Waltz: a solo variation performed by a soloist. 4. Mazurka: a solo by the prima ballerina. 5. Mazurka: a solo by the lone male dancer in the cast. 6. Prelude: a solo by a different soloist. 7. Waltz pas de deux for the prima ballerina and the poet. 8. Grand Waltz: the final ensemble.

Notes: This ballet, because of its name, is quite often confused with La Sylphide. The two are quite different, in fact. Les Sylphides was originally called Chopiniana, after Chopin, the composer who wrote the music. However, the name was changed for its premiere in Paris, where the audience had recently seen La Sylphide.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.