Violoncello I+II part from Fantasia on Tansman's Last Theme: Alla Polacca

8 minutes
Modern classical music

This is a fantasia based on Alla Polacca by Aleksander Tansman, a late work originally for viola and piano, very much in the style of his early period, rather than his other mature music. In general, the late period was influenced by many sources, from the folk music of his native Poland to the counterpoint of Bach, ethnic music from all over the world, polytonality and even serialism.

The publisher of the piece from which the theme is taken, GERARD BILLAUDOT EDITEUR S. A. has granted me written permission to use the theme.

Mesdames Mireille Tansman Zanuttini and Marianna Tansman Martinozzi, Tansman's daughters, have given their support to the project and have also been very helpful in initially granting permission to use their father's music. These two ladies are largely responsible for maintaining the invaluable resource for researchers into the music of Tansman: Les Amis d'Alexandre Tansman based at the Parisien home of their illustrious father. The work is dedicated to them in gratitude and friendship.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Geoffrey Alvarez. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Geoffrey Alvarez has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.