Life and Afterlife: II. Nocturnal Procession

Year of composition
David Stybr
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Note: This score is at sounding pitch. Parts available upon request.

Commentary by Left Brain vs. Right Brain. RB: "Right away I see some bizarre patterns. Both your themes in the orchestral exposition have 5-bar phrases, and you begin almost all phrases with a rest on the 1st beat. Maybe you intended the music to seem seem hesitant and eerie. And can't you make up your mind whether the key is D Minor or E Minor? You even squeeze in traces of G Minor and A Minor." LB: "The tonalities are an upward struggle. The movement begins in D Minor, and then climbs a step into E Minor. Then it falls to D Minor again, climbs to E Minor, and climbs another whole step into F-Sharp Minor in the lyrical central R?verie section. It briefly reaches the relative major key of the piece, A Major, but falls down into its dominant minor: the home key of D Minor again. At the end, the music builds toward A Major again, but D Minor wins at the last second." RB: "As if those tonic gymnastics weren't enough, the real fun came in the central R?verie section, as I transformed Themes I & II into a contrapuntal accompaniment. Next I experimented with fragments of both themes, and they melded into a soaringly syncopated but lyrically passionate 11-bar melody in F-Sharp Minor!" LB: "This piece was completed in May 2002 in Washington, DC."

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David Stybr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David Stybr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.