Missa Brevis Agnus Dei

Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

The Missa Brevis by Jeremy Richards was first performed at the Great Hall of the National Gallery of Victoria in 1990 as the winner of a composition competition for new works. It has since recieved a performance by many choirs in Australia and Europe. It was used to celebrate the fall of the Berlin Wall, and was performed in the Kaiser Friederich Gedachtnis Kirsche in Berlin in January of 1991. At the time of the composition of the work, the composer was just 19 years of age. It was a world wide hit. The work was also performed in England, the country where composer Leonel Power had been active, and had introduced to music for the first time, the consonant interval of the third. Richards refers often to the style of the early fifteenth century musicians. To enquire more about performances of the work, and indeed if your choir would like to perform the work please contact the composer at jrichards@hotkey.net.au

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jeremy Richards. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Jeremy Richards has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.