Chaconne Mass

New English Translation of the Mass

page one of Chaconne Mass

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Chaconne Mass sets the new English translation of the Mass introduced into the English-speaking Catholic world, 2011. The score includes a version, transposed down a tone, for Cantor if an SATB choir is unavailable or for lower voices. The Congregational Sheet is available as a free pdf download from Phillip Pennington Harris’ Catalogue pages at:

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
16 minutes
Classical music
Related scores
Beata es, Virgo Maria (TTB), Godhead here in hiding (Adoro te devote), Peter Mass (revised 2011), Beati qui habitant in domo tua, Domine (TTB), Shorts, Advent descant: Lo, he comes, Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee (SAB version), Pater, sanctifica eos in veritate (TTB), I know that river which flows for ever, Stand up, friends!, Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) Version for SSAA Choir, Gloria (from the Missa Modalis), Spiritus Domini super me SATB, Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) (TTBB), The Spirit of God SATB, Advent Entrance Antiphon: Christ our King is coming/Rex noster adveniet Christus, Spiritus Domini super me TTB, Capriol Suite arr. for 6 hands (Bransles), Advent Psalms (Year B), Blessed are those / Beati qui ad cenam, I Sing of a Maiden, Never Weather-beaten Saile, O sacrum convivium, Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (S) & Organ, Advent Entrance Antiphon: A shoot will spring/Egredietur virga, Father, make them holy (TTB), Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (SS) & Organ, Litany of Saints, Mary had a Baby, Advent Entrance Antiphon: The Lord is coming/Veniet Dominus, Litany of Saints for Ordinations, Ascension Introit: Men of Galilee, Tu es Petrus, Advent Psalms (Year A), Advent Alleluia, The Spirit of God TTB, Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee! true Body (8 part version), Advent Entrance Antiphon: To you, my God/Ad te levavi, Missa Modalis, In paradisum (from Fauré Requiem), Alleluia (Gospel Acclamation), Themes on a Variation, I know that river which flows for ever (version with harp & cello), Fantasia: ’Pange lingua’, Six Little Piano Pieces, Invocations, Salve Regina and Toccata Postlude on 'Veni Creator Spiritus'

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Chaconne Mass

Reviews of Chaconne Mass

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...