Home > Solo instrument > PRB Piano Series: Allegro in C

PRB Piano Series: Allegro in C

THOMAS ARNE arr. Philip R Buttall
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This short Allegro by English harpsichord composer, Thomas Arne, is, in fact, the third movement of his Concerto No 1 in C.

I have edited some of the distribution between the hands, included some (hopefully!) helpful fingering suggestions, and added a short Cadenza just at the end. As the note in the score says, performers may either use my suggested Cadenza, improvise or compose one of their own, or merely leave it out, by omitting all those notes shown ’small’.

I would suggest a legato touch for the flowing semiquavers, while the quavers might be played ’detached’, or ’sticky-staccato’, as I often describe it!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Philip R Buttall. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.